“Problem Gambling Awareness Month” My Guest Is Vegas Judy. “What If You Live In Las Vegas?”

~Recovery Starts Here~ A Bet Free, Sober, & Clean Blog~ Sharing Hope in Recovery One Day at a Time~


WHAT IT MEANS TO BE A RECOVERING GAMBLER LIVING IN LAS VEGAS.
by JUDY G.

MEET, VEGAS JUDY!

old_caesars_palace_las_vegas_1

This is about two aspects of me – my evolution as a compulsive and then recovering gambler – and my growing fascination and compulsion to be in Las Vegas. Intertwined?Yes. But also distinct and separate. What I mean by that is: If gambling didn’t exist in Las Vegas, would I still want to live here? Yes.

However, since gambling does exist here, would I want to live anywhere else? No.

Now, back to the beginnings:

My childhood years certainly didn’t include this yearning to be in Las Vegas. But I guess I always had yearnings – and in those days, it was to live in the Golden State – California. I  spent the first 8 years of my life exclusively in California – mainly Lodi and Woodland. But when I was 9…

View original post 2,463 more words

6 thoughts on ““Problem Gambling Awareness Month” My Guest Is Vegas Judy. “What If You Live In Las Vegas?”

      1. I know you all have the same problems in South Africa with gambling as the UK, Australia, Ireland, and here in the USA.

        Maybe you should by and give them my book/memoir as a gift as it is my story of what I went through with gambling addiction and how I recovering. Maybe they might “think twice” about what they doing? 😦

        Catherine

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

