No Longer Anonymous: Alexis Kanda-Olmstead Overcomes the Terror of the Publish Button

Discover

Alexis Kanda-Olmstead’s moving essay on body image, “Making Friends With This Body,” was the fifth post on AKO Collective — a blog she started in August to showcase her writing. We spoke with Alexis about her blog’s origin story, her inspirations, and Blogging University.


Costume? What costume? (Alexis Kanda-Olmstead) Costume? What costume? (Alexis Kanda-Olmstead)

What sparked you to start blogging?

I’m a book lover, so my first experience with blogging was actually in the form of a book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess. Her compilation is interspersed with traumatic and hilarious childhood stories, and I highly recommend it to anyone who has been messed up by their parents, which is pretty much everyone.

While I was laughing my way through her book, I had an unfortunate “bad mommy” moment with my kids that made all of us cry. It occurred to me that my kids might…

View original post 1,272 more words

Leave a Reply

